Haiku Review (sort of): The Explorers Club

21 Jun

Okay guys, I have a confession to make. I have been attempting to write Haiku Reviews for The Explorers Club for about an hour now, and failing miserably. This can be traced to two different causes:

1. I went to the opening last night so my brain has gone into hangover mode, which is pretty much a dull staring autopilot directing me towards the nearest source of carbs and cheese.

2. It is really hard to write haiku for shows I love. This is a natural outcropping of the idea that it’s just plain harder to write a review for something you love; when there are flaws you can discuss what doesn’t work, how the pieces don’t fit, what they’re maybe attempting. But a good review is more like “man, how good was that? And you know what works about it? Everything.” So my haikus are pretty much a series of me effusively slobbering all over this play in a manner that’s not particularly witty or wise. Because, to put it simply, I just adore this play. I’m a little biased, as the director is a good friend of mine, but even if that weren’t the case I’m pretty sure I would have felt the same way.

It’s a rare and delightful thing when you see something that feels as though it was written just for you. The Explorers Club, which is a hilarious and nerdy-smart comedy about science set in the time of corsets, basically only needs Muppets and Benedict Cumberbatch to be my perfect thing. And it is pure delight – oh my god, you guys, this cast (David Furr! DAVID FURR!! Genius.) and the jokes! – I replay some of them in my head just to amuse myself (charades!! You’ll know what I’m talking about).  I like to think it’s a play I would have written, if I were much much smarter, much much funnier, and much much MUCH better at writing plays than I am. But luckily I don’t need to be any of those things, because Nell Benjamin already is the smartest and the funniest and the best at writing, so I can just be her shrieking fangirl and tell you all that if you enjoy reading this blog, you’ll probably love this play. And you’ll probably see me there, since I’m pretty sure I can convince MTC to sell me some sort of fun pass for its run.

Alright, drooling-on-the-couch-while-hoping-the-aspirin-kicks-in beckons, so I will leave you with this, since I promised a haiku:

 

There’s a new entry
Into the exalted ranks
Of my favorite things.

Leave a Reply

