In Which I Make Your Day: Pug Edition

6 Apr

I am now safely nestled into adulthood, and I have found some surprising things have happened with the aging process. I am not talking about an increasing inability to function with a hangover, or that one frown line that is moving from a hairline fracture to a crevasse. I’m talking about my growing love of looking at animals in costumes.

Yes, that’s right, I said it. And you read it right – as I get older, I enjoy pictures of cute animals in cute costumes more, not less. Who knows why this is – I sniffed at such silliness in my serious youth, but now nothing brings me quite as much joy as that barking Star Wars ad, say, or a cat dressed as Edward Cullen. I like to think that part of it is the contrast between the hapless pet looking totally blank, or possibly entirely embarrassed, and their intense get-up, but the reality I think is simpler; animals in costumes are just hilarious and adorable.

And I think we can all agree that the king of the costumed animal is the Pug. They’re my favorites anyway, helped in part for my eternal love for my own Lola, but there’s something about their expressive faces that makes their costuming near perfection, whether it’s the classic full Yoda:

Or even in a simple knitted cap.

Both images from the Sweethoots Etsy shop.

But now, someone’s taken it even further, and made this, possibly the best video in the history of videos. A parody of/ tribute to Bone Thugz-n-Harmony, it is fittingly titled Bone Pugz-n-Harmony. And I think we can all agree that it is pretty hard to live life in a bad mood after watching it.

 

One Response to “In Which I Make Your Day: Pug Edition”

  1. Larry (@Tyler306) April 6, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    Safely nestled into adulthood..I love it..When that happened to me it was the same feeling because my dog (a miniature Poodle, I was a linebacker for a semi-pro football team don’t laugh) had various sweaters for winter and a sweat shirt for those cool spring days. He’s in Heaven now and I now live with a Male Tabby called Willie. He won’t allow me to dress him…As far as creatures go I feel bad for the chickens that lay eggs and I will only buy eggs from farmers that let the chickens roam the back yard..I don’t eat any other chicken…At least I try not to…As far as beef goes. I will buy only beef that is humanely treated. I don’t care if costs a little more..The people that think they are so important that they speed on the back roads and hit creatures, squirrels, porcupines and skunks. I once picked up a baby skunk by the tail from a busy road and put him an the side of the road in the grass..He hissed thank you to me. Poor little bugger was frozen with fear. I hope these people have nightmares till the day they die or they are hit by a speeding bus..The cowardly hunters are another story. Can you guess what I hope and pray happens to them? Whew, I’m glad I got that off my chest…Oh, great post! Keep em coming…

Leave a Reply

