Hold Off, Apocalypse. I’ve Got Some ‘Sherlock’ To Watch.

24 Dec

According to some crackpot conspiracy theorists and crappy Hollywood films, the year 2012 will bring the Apocalypse. Which to my mind seems unlikely, but to my mind ‘Wicked’ becoming a ginormous monster hit seemed unlikely as well, so so much for my predictive skills.

So, if the year ahead will indeed bring utter destruction, I have a simple request – could you just hold off until June, Apocalypse? You see, although Brits will get to see the second season of my beloved ‘Sherlock’ in January, we Yankees have to wait until May (why so long, BBC?!? You could put it in the Mayflower and it would get here sooner than that. George Washington could have rowed it across the Atlantic Ocean sooner than that. Paul Revere could have ridden a tortoise to deliver it and it would have gotten here sooner than that.) Judging by this teaser:

And this trailer (thanks, Isaac!!):

Next season will be potentially even more awesome than the first, if such a thing is possible (And there’s Cumberbutt!).

So please, Apocalypse, withhold your fiery brimstone for just a few months.

Ooh, but actually, now that I’m looking at my calendar, I would really hate to miss ‘The Hobbit’ movie, too, which is scheduled for release in December 2012, and also looks pretty great (Martin Freeman, with his perfect Martin Freeman timing! Ian McKellen! Gollum! Richard Armitage as a strangely attractive Thorin Oakenshield!). So you know what, Apocalypse, 2012’s looking like a bad year for you. Ooh, and then the stage musical version of ‘Strictly Ballroom’ is happening in Sydney in 2013, so… sorry, Apocalypse. You’re just going to have to postpone yourself indefinitely; there is just too much awesomeness coming up.

P.S. While I wait for season 2 of ‘Sherlock’, I will just have to mentally plan my hypothetical future hit television show, ‘Dink and Batch’, in which Peter Dinklage and Benedict Cumberbatch play buddies who show up in different time periods and places, and quip at each other wittily.

P.P.S. “I always hear “punch me in the face” when you’re speaking, but it’s usually subtext.” is a line that I wish I had written so much it hurts. Oh ‘Sherlock’, you are so brilliant.

P.P.S. In searching for a featured image for this post, I just came across this image from season 2:

Lara Pulver as Irene Adler

SQUEEEE!!!! That means that the lady in the preview is Irene Adler, only one of the most badass of ladies in the mystery literature canon, if you ask me, and one of two people who ever bested Sherlock Holmes (the other being Moriarty). Huzzah! I am very excited. I am also very excited because this picture also shows that season 2 will maintain ‘Sherlock’s gleaming crown as the best-wallpapered show on television, possibly ever. I mean, really, they should just do a tie-in line, right now (and if they do, I will happily promote it in exchange for a few rolls of 221B Baker Street’s living room paper. Sans bullet holes, please.)

One Response to “Hold Off, Apocalypse. I’ve Got Some ‘Sherlock’ To Watch.”

  1. JRB December 24, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    Not only is it Irene Adler, but she’s played by the gloriumptious Lara Pulver, who played Lucille Frank in “Parade” at the Donmar and the Taper, and who also played Cathy in “The Last Five Years” at the Chocolate Factory.

Leave a Reply

