Pre-Newsies, Post-Community

2 Oct

Hi All!

I’ll have another post for you soon, as later today I am living a long-held dream; to sit in a theater seat and watch a live performance of ‘Newsies’, a movie that has been so much a part of my life that there’s probably a little part of my brain devoted entirely do side hitch-kicks.

But before I go change out of my bathrobe and into something a little more ‘Seize the Day’, if you catch my drift (Newsies cap – too much?), I just wanted to point something out.

The new TV season is out, and it’s been rough for me trying to balance my twelve hundred readings of ancient greek plays with viewings of the new shows (it’s entirely possible that I’ll snap one day and be like “After Clytemnestra hears that Agamemnon is returning from the war, she decides she will murder him to avenge the murder of her daughter, Iphegenia, with the help of Abby, Eve, and Kate, three fierce hot ladies who traded in their potential prison sentences to work for a mysterious voice on a speakerphone who gives them assignments, all of which require catsuits or hotpants.”)

Anyhoo, I’m slowly catching up. And one of the ones on my list is my beloved ‘Community’. Now, if you read my blog because you enjoy it and not because you’re being paid off by someone (my parents, the government, a shadowy government sub-group – okay, maybe I’ve been watching too much of the new TV), I can pretty much guarantee you will also enjoy ‘Community’. It is hilarious, smart, and sort of insane, all of my most favorite things – there’s just nothing out there quite like it. And if you don’t believe me, take a gander at this, which opened the new season, and tell me if this wasn’t written by my subconscious. Well, technically it wasn’t, it was written by the genius writers of ‘Community’, but my subconscious WISHES it had written it. And picked out that bizarro guy in white hanging from the ceiling at the end, because, what?!? Crazy. And brilliant.

Oh, but if you’re diving into Community, watch a few episodes before you get to the paintball episodes, which are sort of the magnum opus of the show. You want to acclimate your palette first.

3 Responses to “Pre-Newsies, Post-Community”

  1. Seth Christenfeld October 4, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    Pretty sure that the “bizarro guy in white” is the Greendale Human Being.

    • bloggledygook October 4, 2011 at 7:56 am #

      I don’t know that character! I’m new to my Community love, clearly I have much to catch up on.

  2. Seth Christenfeld October 4, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    The Human Being is the non-gendered, ethnically neutral mascot of GCC.

Leave a Reply

