Brearley Has Some Truly Remarkable Alumnae

19 Apr

For thirteen happy years of my life, I was a student at the Brearley School, a private girls’ school with a sterling reputation, an august history, and a truly unfortunate mascot (the beaver. It’s an all-girls’ school. Yup.) In a few weeks I will be attending my ten year reunion (and speaking at an assembly about life ten years after graduation – I am slightly worried that I have been included to serve as the ‘arts hobo cautionary tale’). When I hopped online to send in my RSVP, I noticed something interesting. For you see, Brearley does have some very impressive alumnae, but given the sheer number of titles available to identify yourself with, it seems I underestimated just how diverse the paths their alumnae have walked. Here are the options:

It’s especially kind of Brearley to include so many male titles, for though it is an only female school, it is important not to potentially offend the many students who may graduate, realize they are transgendered, then realize they are called to catholic priesthood, or perhaps inherit a viscountship, or realize that they are, in actuality, French. But I ask you, Brearley, what do you have against Empresses, Pharaohs and Maharajadhiraja Bahadurs, hmm?

8 Responses to “Brearley Has Some Truly Remarkable Alumnae”

  1. Dixie April 19, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Hi Anika! Another Brearley gal sent me the link to your blog, and (1) thanks for making me giggle at work and (2) I was the arts hobo cautionary tale panelist at my ten year reunion! I was highly suspicious that they asked me to be on the career panel considering I was unemployed at the time, but it ended up being fun. Lead those impressionable girls to the dark side of the artistic life – you can do it! I hope you are well & that I see you soon – Dixie

    • bloggledygook April 20, 2011 at 8:48 am #

      Hi Dixie!!
      So great to hear from you! And I’m glad to hear you were an arts hobo panelist too – I will absolutely do my best to convince the young Brearleyites to come to the arts (who needs that second day off per week, or health insurance?).

  2. Jason April 19, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    I also like that they give you the option to go by “Drs.” in case you happen to have split personalities that are both very intelligent. I think literature had proven, however, that this is rarely the case.

    • bloggledygook April 20, 2011 at 8:50 am #

      HA!! Excellent point. Although that would make for an unexpected medical drama – a split personality of doctors who consult civily with each other.

  3. salaam April 19, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    Thanks for a fun read. I enjoy high schools that have a cougar as their mascot. That is because sports games always have the moms wearing shirts declaring “COUGAR”.

    • bloggledygook April 20, 2011 at 8:51 am #

      Welcome to the blog! And I can only hope that somewhere, at some point, a team called The Beavers plays a team called The Cougars, and then somebody films it and puts it on the internet. I think the universe demands it.

  4. Nia April 20, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    Anika…loved it! I just saw a link to your blog through City Room blog in the NYTimes. I should have known it was a writer from ’01 🙂

  5. Duckface April 21, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    I do hope you chose “midshipman”

Leave a Reply

