Well, There Goes All MY Time.

22 Jul

Remember Mystery Science Theater 3000? I sure do. Because I can remember few things as consistently beloved to me in my grade school days (okay fine, high school too) than the brilliant two-hour show featuring a man trapped on a spaceship making snarky comments at terrible movies with his two robots.

Okay, if you don’t know the show, that probably sounded vaguely horrifying to you. But I can assure you, there are few things in the universe as able to reduce you to a helpless howling mass, laughing until you cry your eye makeup off and it stings, as these brilliant guys commenting on these movies. Here’s a little sampling:

But alas for me, Mystery Science Theater 3000 was cancelled in 1999, tragically forcing me to go out and have what is commonly known as a “social life.”

Until now.

You see, I have just discovered that the writers of Mystery Science Theater 3000, Mike Nelson, Kevin Murphy, and Bill Corbett, have spent their time creating ‘rifftrax’, audio commentary tracks that you can play while watching classic movies and new releases. And you guys, I think the only thing funnier than watching the guys riff on ridiculous old movies is watching them riff on ridiculous new ones. So, with tracks for movies like ‘Twilight’ and ‘Star Wars’ available to download for $3.99 each (they’re all here), it’s not looking good for that “social life” or, come to think of it, “productivity.”

Here’s a little teaser gift from me to you:

P.S. Oh, did I mention that guest commenters include Fred Willard, Joel McHale, and Neil Patrick Harris? Probably because I was too busy squealing like little girl.

Leave a Reply

