Rhapsody in a Blue Jumpsuit

1 Feb

Good Monday!!

I know, I know, it’s cold and blah, and the high from watching Lady Gaga and Elton John do a duet has already worn off a little bit, while the Taylor Swift fatigue is settling in for real. So good thing that there’s this news to provide delicious mind fodder for today.

The media is reporting that Zachary Quinto, the seemingly pan-sexual and delightfully oddly sexy (seriously, dude’s just got the aura. I suspect it’s like Snow White with the woodland creatures flocking out of the forest to sing with her, except in this case all the woodland creatures would be like ‘who IS that guy? And why am I blushing!?) star of ‘Heroes’ and ‘Star Trek’, will be starring as George Gershwin in a Steven Spielberg-directed biopic. How awesome is this? Let me count the ways.

1. GEORGE GERSHWIN!! Gershwin was a seminal American composer, and wrote such a long list of excellent songs and shows that if I listed it you’d have to go to another page. So the fact that there is a major biopic being done at all does my nerdy heart good. Fingers crossed it’s more ‘Amadeus’ and less ‘De-Lovely,’ but no matter what it is, I’ll be buying my tickets as soon as they go on sale.

2. STEVEN SPIELBERG!!! I mean, come on, that’s awesome.

3. ZACHARY QUINTO!! As previously stated, Zachary Quinto rocks. He managed to be both completely evil and strangely sympathetic (not to mention weirdly sexy) as the ubervillain Sylar on ‘Heroes,’ and then turned in a Spock that was conflicted, angry, funny, conceited, and vulnerable (not to mention weirdly sexy) all while still being an emotionless Vulcan. He stole the movie from the rest of the excellent cast AND the special effects, which is saying a lot. He also did this with half his eyebrows shaved off and prosthetic pointy ears. He is, in short, awesome. Also, weirdly sexy, did I mention that?

So this, in short, is the best musical theater nerd movie mash-up since they announced that Johnny Depp wanted to play Carol Channing (PLEASE MAKE THAT HAPPEN, MOVIE PEOPLE).

Look how happy George Gershwin looks at the idea that he'll be played by Zachary Quinto.

Look how seriously Zachary Quinto ponders his new role!

P.S. Do you know how hard it was for me to resist titling this post ‘Rhapsody IN MY PANTS’?!?! It was very difficult, but I wanted to keep it classy for y’all.

2 Responses to “Rhapsody in a Blue Jumpsuit”

  1. David Loewy February 22, 2010 at 2:29 am #

    This is honkin’ amazing. I am looking forward to all the following toe-tappin’ tunes:
    –Someone to Watch Over Me (…as sung by a certain cheerleader)
    –My Sweet Embraceable Spock
    –Uhura, You is My Woman Now

    No. Seriously. I’m right there with ya in that line to buy opening day tickets.

    Geeking out,
    d

  2. bloggledygook February 26, 2010 at 10:37 am #

    Oh my lord, I absolutely think those songs MUST be included. I would also love to see a duet between him and Chris Pine – really any song. They could just read the phonebook, actually, and I would be there. Take note, Spielberg.

Leave a Reply

