A Triple Triple Threat

13 Jan

We are spoiled for choice on Broadway these days. In many ways, the performers of today have gotten more talented than their historical brethren; the singing/dancing/acting ‘triple threats’ seem to be the norm on Broadway (and hey, even in Hollywood), where they used to be rare, and it seems like even the children who appear on the Great White Way could probably knock out a great Lear or Mame while also shuffling off to buffalo and warbling ‘Vissi D’Arte’. But do you ever find yourself staring wistfully into the middle distance while a stage full of talented performers sits before you, thinking that there’s just… something… missing? I know I do. But what could this ineffable talent be?

Well, I was just sent a video (thanks, awesome cousin Phoebe!) that I think provides the answer quite nicely. I will let you watch it for yourself first, but I think you’ll agree with me that we just aren’t growing our talents like we used to.

P.S. Since the costume and set bears a striking resemblance to the current revival of ‘South Pacific’, I suggest that you, as I did, turn down the audio and imagine that they are singing ‘I’m Gonna Wash that Man Right Outta My Hair’ with Kelli O’Hara. Chris Gattelli, are you taking notes?

P.P.S. For some reason I can’t change the screen cap that youtube has provided here, which looks filthy dirty. Please know that the video itself is not at all dirty, and is safe for work. Although you might, at one point, accidentally shout ‘oh my GOD!’ or some similar thing.

One Response to “A Triple Triple Threat”

  1. jc January 20, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    just watching this hurts my back!

Leave a Reply

