The Littlest Balladeer

21 Nov

Children are amazing, aren’t they? One day they can barely hold their head up, and then only a handful of months later they’re singing the entire score to a cult 1990 Sondheim musical about the false promise of the American dream and the political violence that occurs as a result. Sigh.

Seriously, though, is that not amazing? What an astounding kid. My father sent this video to me (as Assassins is my most favorite musical), saying that perhaps he had failed, because my favorite song to sing when I was two was ‘Ev’ry Day (Comes Something Beautiful)’ from I Remember Mama. I told him I thought that was probably a more peaceable choice, and pointed out that nary two years after that my favorite song was ‘Dance 10, Looks 3’ from A Chorus Line, so maybe it all balances out in the end.

 

Leave a Reply

