The first (sort of) post!

25 Oct

Okay, well, here is the introductory post that will now come after the other, technically first, post. You know what, whatever, here’s another post.

I figured it would be a good idea to explain a bit about why I felt it was necessary to begin this little exercise in public diary-writing, besides the fact that to know me is pretty much to be privvy to a long line of only tenuously related random thoughts that will occasionally land on the unsuspecting observer, such as why is it that puritans were able to fall in love with each other with so little choice when it seems so difficult to do so in a world brimming with choice, or do you ever really stop to consider that your teeth are inside your head, or hey, you know what’s really good? cheese. So it naturally follows that the blog format, which allows many random thoughts to be posted and read at others’ leisure, would be somewhat ideal for me. However, right now I’m in a rather particular situation that calls especially for a blog.

I don’t know how much background to give, as I don’t know who exactly will be reading this, but suffice it to say that I am a lifelong New York Broadway dork, and an anthropology major in college. These two things have been combined beautifully into the job I currently hold, as the Assistant Company Manager for a tour of CATS that is going to tour around Asia for roughly the next year and a half. Right now, I am living in Sydney, a city I adore, for the tour’s pre-production and eventually rehearsals. And then, at the end of the December, it’s me, 29 Australian Cats, and about 10-15 Australian crew (I would guess), and Asia.

Hence, the blog. I figured it would be easiest to keep people updated as to what I was doing and where, the sights I was seeing and the illnesses I was getting all over Asia. I’m not sure yet entirely what the focus of the blog will end up being – whether theater or travel or whatever it is that happens to catch my eye, but hey, who says you even need a focus in a blog, right? Oh crap, I don’t know, do you need a focus in a blog?

  Already I am late to it – there is much here in Sydney that I have yet to write about, as it took me so long to come up with the name for the blog alone that I have fallen far behind. So perhaps I’ll catch up. Or perhaps you will all be stuck reading about my ruminations on cheese forever. Mwah ha ha.

3 Responses to “The first (sort of) post!”

  1. Liz October 27, 2006 at 2:45 pm #

    Not only are teeth in your head, but humans have now over-evolved to the point where we have teeth that we don’t need any more, so it’s become a tradition in the human species that before the young leave the central nest for a nest where they’re instructed by elders who are not of their same direct gene pool, they go to a human who has been trained to remove the extra teeth by breaking them, and pulling out the shards, then sewing the gaping flaps in the their mouths shut.

    I miss you.

  2. jason October 28, 2006 at 1:13 pm #

    oh crap! i was hoping i would show my love for you by being the first to respond, and then lizzie here has to go beat me to the punch by actually paying attention. damn her!

    and i still have those teeth lizzie speaks of. i used to think that meant i was special, but now i’m just feeling underevolved. i’m ancient!

  3. Milo November 4, 2006 at 5:48 pm #

    THis is the best thing I’ve read in weeks. The entirety I mean, the blog. Keep it up Anika, your fans require it!

Leave a Reply

