This is a Giant @#(&%(* Jellyfish.

6 Feb

So, let me give you the history of this here postie. This morning, I was chatting with an Aussie friend who, knowing me well, told me to look up a picture of something called Nomura’s Jellyfish (for those of you who don’t know me well, you should know that when friends see something and think of me, ten to one what they’re looking at is a gigantic disturbing aquatic creature of some kind. Or Benedict Cumberbatch, but that’s sort of unrelated.)

I did look up the Nomura’s Jellyfish, and lo, the joy that awaited me. Because this, my friends, is Nomura’s Jellyfish:

The Terrifying Nomura Jellyfish

So I tried to make a post about it. My first thought was that I could do a sort of Monday morning spin, like ‘Monday’s are hard, the week looms ahead, everyone’s hungover from the superbowl, but let’s put things in perspective with this GIANT (@*#$)^& JELLYFISH’. But that didn’t really work, because I thought that people would read the post and think ‘this poor girl, clutching at absurdly oversized sea life just to make it through the week’, which isn’t really accurate, because I’m having a blast at grad school, and can happily get through it a week without even a picture of a wee little sea slug to make it through.

My second spin was that I would make Nomura’s Jellyfish into some kind of metaphor, like “we all have problems in life sometimes, but let us think of them as Nomura’s Jellyfish – terrifying in concept, seemingly impassable, but in reality easily swum around and not very dangerous, unless you let them weigh down your nets and capsize your boat.” (By the way, that happens.) But that’s a bit of a reach too.

So I just keep coming back to this: That is a GIANT @#(%*@(#$%*#$) JELLYFISH. And isn’t it cool that we live in a world where crazy beasties like this exist, and we’re barely aware of them? Yay, earth. Yay, mystery. And yay future person who spots the water for Nomura’s Jellyfish should I ever be swimming in the East China Sea. Because seriously, if I spot one of those in the same water, I am peeing myself and then having a heart attack, in that order.

 

P.S. You’ve got to love the Japanese -  faced with an invasion of these jellyfish that was destroying fishing nets and damaging the economy, they embraced a pretty unexpected solution: making the jellyfish into adorable little cookies.

via pinktentacle.com

Let that be a lesson to you: When life gives you swarms of absurdly oversized jellyfish, just catch them without breaking your nets or capsizing your boat, kill them, dehydrate them, grind them into a powder, and make them into cookies.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,980 other followers

